The Wonderful Cross

It’s amazing how the same hymn lyrics that encourage and strengthen can also convict and emasculate. Tonight was USC/UCLA night for KCM. We sang “The Wonderful Cross.” As I sang the first verse, I felt so far from what the lyrics were saying.

When I survey the wondrous cross
On which the Prince of glory died,
My richest gain I count but loss,
And pour contempt on all my pride.

Could I really say that I counted my richest gain but loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ? I have had struggles with pride, and though I do view my pride with contempt, as I sang that line, I was reminded of all the times I basked in it for my own self-confidence.

There is a third verse which is omitted in the popular Chris Tomlin/Matt Redman version that many churches sing. It was this verse that I sang instead of the fourth. I sang it as a prayer in response to my conviction from the first verse.

Forbid it, Lord, that I should boast,
Save in the death of Christ my God!
All the vain things that charm me most,
I sacrifice them to His blood.

It was nice seeing the room filled with so many believers. I felt happy and content, even the times when I sat alone or silent. I hope I was able to show kindness to those who may have felt lonely. I thank God for the times I feel lonely because then I don’t become full of myself when in large group settings. Because I know how nice it feels to have someone go out of their way to talk to me and spend time with me, I can go and do the same for others. I’m not exactly the type of person with a special talent at making people feel loved, but I do my best in what ways I can.

Leave a Reply

