Another emergency

Today, about 2 hours before our meeting time for Sunday morning Bible study, I got a text message from our pastor (his name is Ariel) saying he had to take his wife’s grandmother to the ER and couldn’t make it to church. I have to admit, my first reaction was a mix of disbelief and disappointment. On Friday, we had prayed for him, and I was filled with emotion as the recognition of our sorry state hit me yet again. Yes, there was nothing we could do about the emergency, and yes, we should have prayed for her grandmother. But I couldn’t help but feel a little frustrated.

Normally, we join the KM service if Ariel can’t come. Today, I felt that it was too “easy” for us to simply show up in the KM service and zone out. I did my best to prepare something for our group. We sang worship songs, we read 1 John together (no sermon obviously), and we prayed for the church. We did our best to keep the fourth commandment. Though I held my head in discouragement as I waited for everyone to show up before we started, I was encouraged by the end. We prayed for our lunch and ate together. We played outside in the parking lot doing random things like kids do with whatever’s around: our old basketball hoop, a random tennis ball, exercises against the brick wall.

I hope the kids are growing spiritually.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jon on May 8, 2008 at 2:00 PM

    I’m sure they are man

    remember, God moves regardless of how prepared or ill-prepared we feel.

    He has the capacity to move through anything. Have faith – God is moving through you!

    “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you”
    1 Peter 5:7

Leave a Reply

