Dry times

I haven’t been writing as much lately, especially about church. I think it’s because things have settled down a bit, and I’ve gotten used to things. So there has been a sort of dry time in my writing.

I’ve been having discussions with two Jehovah’s Witnesses. Today was my second time talking to them, and I think we’ll be continuing our conversations in the following weeks. They really know their Bible, and they really want me to engage in a systematic learning of the Bible rather than a discussion that jumps around different topics and doesn’t reference the Word. There are many things I admire about them: their devotion in evangelism, their constant pointing toward the Scriptures for truth and knowledge rather than mere reasoning and hearsay, their gentleness. There are some things that unsettle me about the religion, like the Watchtower Society and its New World Translation, their belief that Jesus wasn’t God but a god, that there is no hell or eternal punishment but a ceasing of existence of the soul. So much is so similar to orthodox Christianity, though, and I know that God will have a chosen few in that institution who place their faith and trust in Christ for salvation, even if their knowledge is veiled and incomplete. I’m tired from my hour-long conversation with them, and I hope I can prepare well for the next time we meet.

I’ve only hinted at this next part in my entries, but so few people read this anyway, so why not just write it, since it does occupy my mind just as much as church does. Occasionally, in the most random moments, my longing for intimacy and companionship grows and lingers. That’s all I’ll write about that for now.

Leave a comment