New clothes

I went to the mall today with my family to go shopping. I think this year I’ve gotten more new clothes than any other year. Maybe it’s because as a senior I’ve become more independent with my finances and so when my mom or dad pay for stuff, including clothes, or when I get them as gifts, I notice it more. Or maybe because I haven’t thrown away too many clothes since the beginning of college, so I feel like I have a lot of clothes. Every time I go shopping, I feel bad for spending so much money, even though it might not actually be much compared to most people. Time passes by so quickly for me now that shirts I bought a year ago don’t seem that old to me, even though I’ve worn them a lot and they’re starting to fade and get fuzzy (my dryer at school isn’t the greatest).

I’m not used to buying “nice” clothes and having a taste for certain fashions. It’s a recent thing for me. Cheap jeans don’t fit as well (i.e. look as good on me) as more expensive jeans, so I find myself not even looking at the cheaper brands anymore. I used to just wear whatever my mom would buy for me. I remember thinking when I was younger that $50 shoes were expensive. But now I can tell the difference in quality between cheap and more expensive shoes and I enjoy the comfort, durability, and overall niceness of more expensive ones. I know what I’m looking for now in dress shirts and pants in terms of fit, features, colors, textures, patterns, and materials. It’s just that when I find something I like, it tends to be more expensive than what I would get a few years ago (I don’t think it’s just inflation). I do try to take better care of what I end up getting though, since I want them to last longer. And I’ve been finding that’s the case…more expensive clothes tend to last longer. I try to be a good steward of my material possessions.

It was nice to be able to get expensive clothes for cheap today. There were great deals everywhere. A few years ago, I remember feeling sick at the consumerism and shopaholicalism I would see around me. But today, I didn’t have that feeling with me. I don’t know what was different today…I could people-watch and not feel cynical and concerned about sin. Maybe it’s because the reason for the long lines wasn’t necessarily consumerism but low prices spurred by a bad economy. Maybe it’s because I prayed yesterday that God would help me to be more loving after a few incidents that reminded me of my pride and stubbornness.

I try to keep myself from getting too involved in what I wear. It’s nice to look nice, but it isn’t everything. I keep thinking about Pastor John Piper, who owns very few pairs of suits and doesn’t own a TV and lives a simple life. I think of my dad, who is fine with clothes from Walmart and looks funny sometimes in inexpensive jackets and pants. Can I still have a heart of humility even if I might be spending a little more money for clothes that I like? I hope so. I humbly realize that God can call me to deny these things for the sake of His glory.

One response to this post.

  1. Came across your blog and I really like this post. It’s great to look nice, but it shouldn’t be everything.

Leave a Reply

