May the new Calvinism not be a fad

Mark Driscoll pointed out on his blog that Time Magazine has a list of the 10 biggest ideas changing the world now. The “new Calvinism” is the 3rd biggest. That’s pretty shocking. The author is really spot-on when he points to the changing lyrical content of popular hymns and songs throughout the centuries as indicators of shifting trends in the Christian landscape.

I’m really excited that Reformed/Calvinist doctrines have been so popular. I’m thankful for Piper and Driscoll, who are able to make such timeless truths relevant and captivating. I think many Christians are tired of the mushy, theologically light Christianity being preached in many evangelical churches today. We crave substance and depth. It’s unfortunate that the label Calvinism has to put on this “brand” of Christianity, because people start getting the idea that Calvinism is a different denomination. I agree with Spurgeon when I say, “Calvinism is the gospel.” May I never call myself a Calvinist out of pride, as if displaying a badge of holiness.

I have my own private opinion that there is no such thing as preaching Christ and Him crucified, unless we preach what nowadays is called Calvinism. It is a nickname to call it Calvinism; Calvinism is the gospel, and nothing else. I do not believe we can preach the gospel, if we do not preach justification by faith, without works; nor unless we preach the sovereignty of God in His dispensation of grace; nor unless we exalt the electing, unchangeable, eternal, immutable, conquering love of Jehovah; nor do I think we can preach the gospel, unless we base it upon the special and particular redemption of His elect and chosen people which Christ wrought out upon the cross; nor can I comprehend a gospel which lets saints fall away after they are called, and suffers the children of God to be burned in the fires of damnation after having once believed in Jesus. Such a gospel I abhor.

I don’t want this to be a fad. I don’t want people buying ESV study Bibles just because it’s the “in” thing to do or start wearing Monergism.com shirts just like people who put NOTW stickers on the rear windows of their white pickup trucks.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Billy on March 12, 2009 at 10:46 PM

    Amen, amen.

  2. It’s awesome to see an upsurge of Christians holding onto a faith that is so solid, but yeah– in a world that just rushes onto one bandwagon after another, it can be iffy. But then again, hey– at least they’re buying Bibles.

Leave a Reply

