Downs and ups

It was hard seeing people falling asleep 5 minutes into the message today. It threw off my thinking and rhythm. I had insights, but they were brief and disconnected with one another. I have a hard time coming up with examples and analogies, so I usually don’t have any. I just talk about what’s happening in the text. I said something random at the end to try to wrap things up, something about praying for the heart rather than the sin. I really wish that even though I stick closely to what’s in the Word, that they would find something new to grab on to, to give them motivation, strength, encouragement, something to challenge them. I thought of my conversation with a sister yesterday, when she told me about how her pastor tells the congregation, even though the temptation is there to make the sermon more “practical” by making the sermon more about issues they’re dealing with, he will continue to preach the gospel. I know where he’s coming from, but on the other hand, I often feel like I could very much make the sermon more applicable while still staying true to God’s Word. I felt very dissatisfied after I finished.

After lunch we went to get boba with the KM kids. It made me happy seeing a couple of the girls take responsibility for getting the orders and stuff. Earlier, we also had birthday cake for one of the kids, and the girls all worked together to clean up. Too bad the boys are just a bunch of lazy pretty boys. It’s okay, though. I arm-wrestled one of them. It makes for good bonding time. Then we came back to church and started our Bible study on Ephesians. I told Andrew, Austin, and Rachel to pray for me, for the church, for long-term vision. Things are in the back of my mind with regard to church, things I need to work out with my dad in the coming years.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jon B on April 27, 2009 at 1:04 PM

    “bunch of lazy pretty boys” hahahah

    as far as the message goes, if they fall asleep it’s probably from staying up too late the night before, not you ;]

    the balance between practicality and the gospel is hard for you to plan. I would preach more on the gospel and trust that God would make it practical. Sure, that sounds like a good idea on paper…but much harder in practice, but worth the try no? Hmm… something smells ironic.

Leave a Reply

